National Case Competition

Expand all

Registration Information

The National CLARION Case Competition 2024 registration opening date is Monday, October 9th, 2023.

Registration will close on Thursday, January 18th, 2024

In-Person National Competition Cost: $2,000 per team

Payment Policy:
The total cost for the competition is $2,000 per team. Upon registering, a $500 deposit amount will be applied to the team registration. The $500 deposit is non-refundable, and will be charged if the team withdraws, or incorporated in the total amount upon full payment. After registration closes, each team will receive an invoice for the total amount, or the $500 deposit if withdrawn. This payment can be made online via credit card, and will be due within two weeks of receiving the invoice.

Registration for CLARION 2024 has now closed.

Important Dates

The National CLARION Case Competition 2024 timeline is listed below.

  • Information Session: October 3: 12-1pm CDT or October 10: 2-3pm CDT.
  • Registration Opens: Monday, October 9th, 2023
  • Registration Deadline: Thursday, January 18th, 2024
  • Case and Guidebook Released: Saturday, January 20th, 2024
  • Competition Dates: Friday - Saturday, April 12th - 13th, 2024

Participant Information

Registered teams will receive a Case Competition Guidebook, which includes:

  • Rules and regulations
  • Roles for students and advisors
  • Team definitions
  • Judging criteria
  • Contact information for additional questions
  • Technical assistance for team development

Competition Style

CLARION 2024 - In-Person!

We are excited to share that CLARION will host the competition in-person this year, on the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities campus! We are thrilled to reconnect with teams face-to-face. This competition will be similar to years past, with an enhanced experience as we incorporate engaging activities with our state-of-the-art Health Sciences Education Center (HSEC), collaborating with campus partners such as MSimulation and the Health Sciences Libraries. CLARION is excited to be partnering with Minnesota Prepared to develop this year's case. Minnesota Prepared is a collaboration between the University of Minnesota School of Public Health (SPH), the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH), and other governmental public health agencies across Minnesota with a mission to "establish, expand, and sustain the state and local public health workforce to support emergency preparedness and response initiatives."

Teams may begin registering for the in-person competition on Monday, October 9th at 8:00am CDT.

A block of rooms have been held for teams at the Graduate Hotel, located across the street from the competition.

 Reserve your rooms here

National Competition Award Information

  • 1st place (shared award): $7,500
  • 2nd place (shared award): $5,000
  • 3rd place  (shared award): $2,500

CLARION Transforms Lives! Hear from Past Participants

Team Composition and Rules

Four students per team - no more than two students from the same profession.

Each institution participating is only allowed to send one team.

Must represent at least two different health professions (see examples below) and no more than 2 of the same professions on each team:

  • Healthcare Administration
  • Medicine
  • Nursing
  • Pharmacy
  • Dentistry
  • Public Health
  • Physical Therapy
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Social Work

*If you have a prior health professional degree, you are able to participate. However, you are only representing the current program you are enrolled in (e.g., A nurse completing a Master of Public Health would represent Public Health, not nursing) 

Participants can be full-time or part-time students at the institution they represent. Please note: Full-time students who are also employed in professional leadership positions are not eligible to compete. Exceptions will be reviewed by the CLARION Executive Board on an individual basis.

Team members will share the entire prize as listed.

Past Participant Presentations

We have welcomed teams from across the country to the National Case Competition! For a sample of past presentations, please see the YouTube links below:

Congratulations to the 2024 National CLARION Winners!

CLARION 2024 Winners

1st Place: $7500 team scholarship
University of South Carolina
Abby Davies (PhD: Pharmaceutical Sciences), Mikaela Ruvolo (Medicine), Moji Awe (Doctor of Pharmacy), Sreeja Varanasi (Medicine)

2nd Place: $5000 team scholarship
Wichita State University & University of Kansas
Kristen Geiger (Physician Associate), Taygen Altenburg (Health Administration), Taylor Lipford (Speech Language Pathology)

3rd Place: $2500 team scholarship
Tulane University
Crystal Dickerson (Master of Public Health), Helina Shiferaw (Master of Public Health), Holly Larson (Master in Healthcare Administration), Sriti Donthi (Medicine/Master of Public Health)